Now that the new merchant software pricing packages have been released, you'll see some differences when you log into your Poynt device or Poynt HQ.
Below are the most commonly asked questions about the pricing package and how it will affect your account.
1. I am an existing merchant; how is my plan determined?
The package you are placed in is based on the features you currently have enabled on Poynt. For example:
- Device Users: if you have 20 device users you would be placed in the Premium plan
- Register/ Catalog: If you have 150 products in your catalogs, you would in the Advanced plan
- Invoicing/ Loyalty: If these features have been requested and enabled for you in the past, then you will be in the Premium plan
2. Can I try out the plans before committing to one?
Yes! Merchants who are slotted in the Basic plan will have 30 days to try either the Advanced or Premium plans for free. At the end of the 30 days, you will be prompted to enter in billing information to continue using the Advanced or Premium features. If you don't enter in your billing info within 6 days of your trial ending, you will be bucketed back into the Basic plan.
3. Who do I contact about billing issues for plans? How do I get a refund?
Email email@example.com if you have any questions about billing. Include a copy of the invoice (should have received it via email).
4. How do I upgrade/downgrade my plan? How will my store be affected if I upgrade/downgrade mid billing cycle?
You can manage your plans by logging into Poynt HQ. There is a Plans & Subscription link under Account & Settings where you can view/manage your plans and update the credit card on file.
If you downgrade or upgrade mid-billing cycle, changes will be effective immediately. You will charged on a pro-rated basis for the days used for both the previous and new plan which was chosen.
5. What happens to the features if I downgrade my plan after using them for a while?
If you are an existing merchant and you downgrade your plan, you will still be able to use those features, but will not be able to enhance/modify them. See below for examples:
Catalog: For existing merchants, if you have more than 75 items in your Catalog/Register and decide not to upgrade to Advance tier, all those items will still be available for you to use. However, you will not be able to add any more products.
Device users: For existing merchants, you downgrade from Advanced or Premium tiers, you will still be able to use all the users, but will not be able to add any more than specified in the plan.
For merchants on-boarded on or after Aug 21 and you downgrade your plan, you won't have access to those features any more. For example, in your Catalog, you won't be able to use any products beyond the limits of the plan. Products added in excess of the limit will be removed from the catalog. However the products will still be available in the product list, in case you decide to upgrade again
6. How will new features be announced?
New features will be announced Merchant Release Newsletter (weekly), pop-up messages on the device and Web HQ.
7. If I’m in the Advanced or Premium tiers, will I automatically get access to all new features?
All new features added to the respective plans will be available to existing subscribers.
8. Can I get access to certain functions without subscribing to a bundle?
You can choose to opt in for certain features on an a la carte basis; however we recommend subscribing to a bundle as that will provide an optimal experience.
Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like to access a la carte features.
Note: your credit card info must be entered in Poynt HQ before al la carte functions can be turned on.
9. How does this affect the way I contact support?
You may have a support agreement with your Reseller directly. This rollout will not impact that agreement.
In regards to Poynt support, all three tiers provide you with a certain level of access. Email support and Discussion Forums are available across all plans; in the Advanced plan, you can take advantage of chatting with the support team. Premium plan will give you access all channels (email, forums, chat, and phone).
10. What happens to my current fee?
The Basic plan is offered to you at no additional cost to the fee your reseller is currently charging you. The Advanced and Premium plans begin at $14.99 and $39.99 respectively, depending on your business setup.