Deactivating a terminal (also known as a Remote Wipe) disassociates a terminal from the merchant it is currently associated with. Once deactivated, the terminal can then be assigned to another merchant.
NOTE: Before a terminal is deactivated, make sure that the it is connected to the internet and all transactions and batches are settled.
Deactivating a terminal
- Log into your Reseller portal and bring up your merchant.
- Identify the terminal to be deactivated and click on Manage
- Under the Advanced Actions, click Remote Wipe.
- Make sure the terminal is connected to the internet before starting Remote Wipe
- Complete the deactivation checklist, filling in the reason and questions on the status of the terminal.
Once you click on Deactivate, the terminal will be cleared of all data and set back to factory settings. This will typically take a few minutes. Once the terminal is back to factory settings, it is ready to be assigned to another merchant.
Remote Wipe Command: